What should i write about?

Becca

May 14, 2008
I want to write fiction novels, but i'm having a writer's block right now, can someone give me some ideas or advice on how to pick a good topic?

look in the news papers and listen to the news, when you find an artile that really makes you think or is shocking etc. ie. husband murders wife of 15 years and three children ages 10,7 & 2. Just read enough to ge the jist of the story, dont read all the details. doesnt have to be morbid like murder lol. could be anything, this is just an example.

Write what you think could have been going through his mind (or even the wife or kids' minds at the time of the attack), what provoked him, etc. did he have an accomplice? Just make it up as you go along.

hope this helps.

Well, I'm a fictional writer and I get inspiration from random things. Sometimes I read a book and one scene inspires an entire story. Once I was on a bike ride and a plot twist popped in my head. I'll often lay in bed and think of a scene or chapter for my stories, and then write them down on a sticky note for the next day.

For you, what you first need to do is come up with a topic. There are tons of ways to do this.

1. Pick a genre. What's your favorite, or what do you feel you could write the best? Romance, Humor, Drama, Tragedy, Thriller, Mystery, Friendship, Fantasy, Adventure, Sci-fi, Western, Parody...these are just some of the genres to choose from. You can combine genres to make a really neat story with variety. For example, Romance/Drama is very popular. But, what if you were to throw in Fantasy or Humor? Or even Mystery? What could happen then?

2. Think about scenes. You don't have to come up with a base story just yet, but think about scenes to put characters in and their surroundings. Why is this scene happening? If you can come up with a few of these, sometimes that's all you need to spring a good idea.