Just a little help with car audio?

TimK

May 28, 2008
Well, go easy on me please, i'm just getting into car audio and its been a huge learning experience i have gone through a set of 10's and a set of 12's and i learned a lot, but i feel it still isn't enough cause i'm still having problems...

Ok on to the fun, so i have a pioneer premier head unit, model DEH-p400UB, pioneer premier speakers, both in my doors and the 6x9's in the back window of my car, and i have a pioneer GM-D8400M mono amp with a 1200w max output.

I've been having some issues with my car and getting sub woofers to work properly in my car, ive gone through two sets, which i didn't pay for thank god, but now i have 2 Infinity Reference subs that max at 1252w each, they are both DVC and i have them wired in parallel, ive used 16 gauge high quality phoenix gold copper wire to wire them up to the the plugs and then to the amp.

The problem i have is that ive never learned how to adjust the settings on both my head unit which has a few options ive never heard of, like Source Level Adjuster (SLA), High Pass Filter. and with my Amp, ive been told how to do it, but i still cant figure out how to properly set the Gain and LPF, furthermore, when i have it down low enough so the bass isn't hitting really hard i can hear a faint, but distinct high pitched whine type of noise coming from both sub woofers.

Thanks in advance for the help,

Tim

Tay...... stfu.... gain relates to the low level input of the amplifier, not the power output of the amplifier. Using the gain to increase "boom" is like turing your oven up hotter to try to bake cookies faster. It doesn't work, it just causes sh!t to burn and catch fire.

Okay Tim, Starting from the top