Essay introduction paragraph: Help/opinion?

AALCH

Nov 19, 2011
I have to write an essay comparing "the balcony scenes" in the 1996 Baz Luhrman version of Romeo vs. Juliet (Romeo+Juliet) and The 1968 Zeffirelli version.

This is my introduction paragraph; this is my first time writing an English essay. Any grammar corrections? Is it any good? Please help ! Thank you in advance !

Over the years there have been many different adaptations of William Shakespeare’s: Romeo and Juliet; two of those would be Franco Zeffirelli’s 1968 version and Baz Lurhman’s 1996 version. It is evident that these directors interpret the original play in their own respective way. Luhrman’s version is a modern-day film adaptation while Zeffirelli’s is inspired by Shakespeare’s time. With that said, Luhrman’s interpretation of the script, the character portrayal, and the mood that is set throughout the scene make his version the dominant topic in this discussion.
Edit: Thank you very much! It helped quite a lot. I'll get on it right now :) Thanks again
How's this?

Over the years, there have been many different adaptations of William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Two of those would be Franco Zeffirelli’s 1968 version and Baz Lurhman’s 1996 version. It is evident that these directors interpret the original play in their own way. With that said, Luhrman’s interpretation of the script, the character portrayal (in his version), and the mood that is set throughout the scene make his version the favored topic in this discussion.

How's this?