Closing Time: Jeanmar Gomez leads sketchy closer parade

admin

Administrator
Jun 17, 2007
Canada
Jeanmar Gomez, closer on the brink (AP) I’ve been playing fantasy baseball for about three decades now, and my attitude has changed on saves.
Back in the early days, a mildly-committed owner could simply figure on beating other owners to the punch for the new saves. Not everyone had the willingness to hunt down fresh information; not everyone had an internet connection (or access to the AP wire, as I did in my newspaper days). There was no MLB Network, no MLB Extra Innings package, no internet streams, no social media. Heck, just reading the USA today a few times a week ostensibly gave you an edge.
The general information advantage is fantasy baseball is just about kaput now (edges will always be attainable in deeper and more nuanced ways, but that’s a discussion for another day). There are a number of news-aggregating websites and Twitter accounts that keep even the weakest owners informed, for a modest time commitment. “Saves on a budget” might still be a workable strategy in a casual or neophyte league, but I wouldn’t suggest it if your pool actually has a pulse. In competitive leagues, I expect a knife fight over every juicy save situation.
With all that in mind, I’ve started to put a modest premium for saves on draft day. I don’t like paying for the top-end guys — though I see the case for them in some innings-capped formats — but I do see value in tapping the secondary tiers, guys with attractive skills and a reasonable leash. It doesn’t mean I won’t be meandering about for the new saves, like other engaged owners, but at least it feels like less of a mandatory rat race. It’s nice to turn the computer and phone off now and again; it’s nice to let the closing FAAB market come to you, not the other way around. I’m all for new handshakes, but I don’t want the tail to wag the dog.