What is a good twin cylinder sport bike?

DanielA1

Jun 2, 2008
I'm 20 years old 6 foot 2 i range from 175 to 180 depending on the day. I'm relatively new to riding but i excelled in my motorcycle class, and the 250's i used just seemed all too unrefined and struggling. I like how easy sport bikes are to toss around and the handling but i love the low end torque of a twin. While i'm 20 im not stupid, i don't want a liter bike because its too much temptation for me. Since I'm 20 money is not the most available thing to me. So what i need is an extensive list of sport bikes with twin cylinder or even triples, that are bigger than 250's but smaller than 9's, and costs less than duc's. It also doesn't matter if they aren't made any more i cant afford a new bike anyways and i love 80's bikes.
I don't mean exactly 600 just looking for a mid sized twin. and no 4 bangers, i don't like going to 9000 rpm for my power
your right about the standard Brad. i was ignorant just looked into it and i placed naked, sport, and standard all under sport. But any one of those 3 or others similar is what i'm looking for

http://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images?_adv_prop=image&fr=ush-ans&va=2012+buell+motorcycle

An RC51 Honda would work, but too much power for a beginner. The bigger 4 bangers have tonnes of low end torque but also not for a beginner. Buell may be an option for you,cheap and in your described power bracket.

Short answer : The 1988 Honda Hawk GT 650 is the machine that best fits your description.

I like that you are mechanically intune enough to know be able to intelligablly talk about what you want out of your riding experiance (and not just say "I want an r6 because they are badazz and 600s are good for beginners") and I too am a tourque guy. Thats the principal reason I ride large capacity bikes. And the best combination of light weight and tourque is in twin sport bikes. So I will discuss them, staying to the tame end of things with your experiance in mind.