My mum turned vegetarian and now she won't cook any meat for me, I'm a terrible cook

Jen

May 12, 2008
First off, I see no issue with you living with your mom--I'm 21 and still living at home with my mom (she's a single parent, I don't keep in touch with dad, we have a small family, etc).

However, I do see an issue with you wasting food. If you can't cook meat, don't. You do not need meat to survive. I'm not trying to convince you to go Vegetarian, because obviously if you wanted to you would have already, but you do not need meat to survive. If you cannot cook, go get a pound of pasta. Boil some water. Read the box and see what it says on how to cook it. You really can't fuck up pasta too bad. After you master the art of cooking pasta, buy some prepackaged chicken tenders and cook them according to the box. You really can't mess up boxed foods too horribly. However, boxed foods aren't always the best for you--But you have to start off slow.

Or, maybe ask your mom to share her meals with you? I dunno, to earn my free room and board here, I cook and clean. My mom gives me money for groceries and won't buy my "elaborate Vegan items" so I totally see why your mom won't buy you meat if you keep wasting it.

I don't mean to sound harsh, but seriously, please stop wasting food. Learn to cook simple things (pasta, rice, beans) before you cook the more elaborate dishes. You have to crawl before you can walk.

and I can't buy takeout? let me try my question again i need to put in some extra info