Georgia’s Todd Gurley is clearly the best running back in this class, but I think he might be even more than that.
I think you can make the argument that Gurley is the best prospect, at any position, in the draft.
That doesn’t mean he’ll be drafted first, of course. But I think he’s a great prospect. There are no negatives about Todd Gurley on the field.
I say “on the field” because there’s the matter of his knee injury. He tore his ACL late last season. Based on history, with how guys get treated for this, it doesn’t seem like it will be a big issue. You have to assume he’ll be fine. I don’t know the answer because I’m not a doctor, but that injury doesn’t derail careers anymore. All I can do is analyze his game film, which is fantastic.
If he’s healthy there’s no reason to think that he can’t be a foundation back for a team that wants the running game to be the starting point of its offense. There’s a lot to like about Gurley, but let’s start with how refined and advanced he is in the subtleties of running, like pressing the hole or using his downhill path to impact the defense.
Here on this 40-yard run against South Carolina, Gurley (No. 3) does a great job using his downhill path to impact the second-level defenders and set up his blocks (the run comes at 2:25 of the video after the screen shots):

On that run – and many others – there are a lot of his skills on display. And he has many skills.
At Georgia he did practically all of the runs he will be asked to do in the NFL: inside zone, zone lead, toss and power (gap schemes). The Georgia offense featured a lot of two-back straight “I” formation.
Gurley is a big back at 225 pounds and he shows solid traits of a power back with good size and natural toughness, but he also moves like man much smaller than 225 pounds.