When I was a kid every Christian I ever met, every preach I ever heard preach, would never question the idea that non-Christians go to Hell. Over time Atheists and Christians have been debating, arguing, and it still seems like it will never end. I remember that about six years ago I started learning about the different philosophical and moral arguments against Christianity. Many of them target the eternal torment doctrine so to speak. Suddenly all these Christians start promoting the annihilation doctrine that is popular among Jehovah's Witnesses. This starts happening conveniently after such arguments as, "A finite existence of sin does not warrant an eternal punishment" begin to widely circulate. I get the feeling that Christians are clinging to what they used to consider heresy just so they have something to counter some of the brightest arguments against Christianity that have ever been. They have changed their beliefs so that they can debate better. It cracks me up. You cannot tell me that most of you believed in a false doctrine for 900 years and now suddenly you realize that the eternal torment doctrine is false! LOL.
That should read 1900 years.