Is a 1200cc sports bike good for a beginner?

Joe

May 12, 2008
So I am looking at buying a motorcycle this summer. I came across a 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 sports bike that is well priced. I have no experience riding motorcycles but have been taught by a friend and will take the safety course. I am a reserved person and think that I would be able to control this bike and not take it too far by not pushing myself or the bike until I get the hang of it.

Is this foolish to expect from myself or is this reasonable?
Thanks

I would personally recommend getting something a little smaller just cause the size of the engine will also make the bike heavier. If it ever tips or gets knocked over and has a full tank it could be a pain. No one really ever needs an engine that big. I had a honda cbr 600f and thats fast enough. If you get a 600cc or 750cc you can always trade for something bigger

Take it from someone who rode and owned a 1200 BANDIT
it is a carburetted 1152 cc SACS GSXR 1100 engine slightly down tuned for torque over power
In standard form without modification it produces just shy of 100 bhp Nearly twice that of a Harley 1200. but with 85 lb ft torque compared to the Harleys 79 lb ft torque
By swapping the exhaust can only adds another 12 BHP and 10 lb ft torque
This is no P.U.S.S.E.Y. CAT it is a pure monster a true muscle bike
a 3mm twist of the throttle in 2nd gear lifts the front wheel and has the back tyre scrabbling for traction as it exceeds 60mph in just over 3 seconds. Pull it right back and over 4500 rpm the engine bucks into life with a howl jumping from 65 mph to 100+ in a mear second.
Rear tyres last a feable 3400 miles and servicing is every 3500 miles with valves being done every 7000 miles fuel returns of 35 mpg ( 30 mpg US) are it's limits and an oil consumption rate of 1/2 a pint every 1000 miles.