Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linked In Flickr Watch us on YouTube Google+
    Downloads
    Uploads

Rookie question about hunting?

I've never been hunting because my dad was done with that by the time I was old enough. then the friends I hung out with just weren't into it. I met a few people now who go hunting. I want to go with them sometime but I'm nervous because I'm a rookie. they sometimes go for 2 weeks moose hunting. wouldn't they be bored out of their minds for two whole weeks in the woods?! what would I need to bring? any other hunting advice welcomed!

Downloads
    Uploads
    For many of us two weeks in the woods is a vacation. We like it there. It is calm, peaceful, and beautiful.

A hunting trip is more than hunting. It is time with friends and family.

For drinkers it is a time to binge.

What you need to bring varies with where you are and what you are hunting. If you get invited to go with these friends, they will tell you what you need to bring.

Downloads
    Uploads
    Well, 2 weeks is a bit of a long time unless you are on a mission to fill a tag. Hunting camps are a lot like a camping trip, you pack appropriate for where you are going, etc. A two week trip almost certainly requires driving to resupply unless you have a cabin with some sort of running water and food storage.

If its your first time, why not go with them for three or four days? That will give you a sample of what its like and let you get a feel for stalking, tracking and drinking lots of beer. If somebody tags out, then you get to see what gutting out and field dressing is like. Stick with the old guys, make friends and do a lot of listening.