Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linked In Flickr Watch us on YouTube Google+
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Teach yourself Martial Arts...?

Please list the top five reasons why this is one of the most stupid things a person can both do as well as claim to have done. Thank you.

(This question is to put the rest for all those people that think they can do it)
    Some of the best musicians were self taught? Well that may be and yes I taught myself piano to a point but music is not martial arts...not even close. I heard this analogy once before from a self trained martial artist who got clobbered when he picked a fight with a green belt at a tournament. This analogy holds no water. Sorry.

Enjoying reading the answers. Keep on posting away.
    DarB - every Sensei teaches every student how to train solo but only students who reach a certain proficiency in their art (usually 3rd degree and above) can actually do so adequately.

Downloads
    Uploads
    1. A false sense of security. While confidence is great, it would be unpleasant to end up in a self defense situation and get stabbed or shot because 'you' thought you knew what you were doing.

2. Shadow boxing is not the same as boxing against a real person. You don't get hit by your shadow.

3. Proper body mechanics are never learned. This can result in injury from poor body movement and linking. The injuries could be severe and immediate or they can be severe and long term. IE bad knees, hips, shoulders, etc.
    3A... Board or brick breaking, might be something too. Many broken bones, extremely to loss of complete limb function.