Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linked In Flickr Watch us on YouTube Google+
    Downloads
    Uploads

Will going to an online distance-learning school ruin my future?

I am currently a sophomore enrolled in a public high school, but I want to transfer into an online school. I am considering Ashworth College's College Prep Online program. I want to be able to graduate a year early, but because I didn't start off at my current school in my freshmen year, they won't allow me to. Last year as a freshmen, I went to a really rundown public high school for my first semester and an online high school for my second semester (Primavera, which was free since I lived in Arizona). I now live in North Carolina, and there are no options for high school students who prefer independent study and distance-learning. The public high school I am now attending is uncooperative and not at all supportive, and the social/classroom environment is a mess.
    The Ashworth program costs $1,295, and you can pay $45 a month. My mom and I can't afford this right now, so we asked for my dad's help (my parent's are divorced). I only need them to pay for the first month, as I would get a part-time job and start paying for the program on my own. My dad has since threatened to cut off all communication with me unless I return to my public high school, or unless I can prove to him that earning my diploma from an online school is no different to colleges then earning a diploma from a public high school.