Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linked In Flickr Watch us on YouTube Google+
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Should I complain about my psychologist? Were her comments racist?

I’m a university student and I was sexually assaulted on campus a few months ago. I was feeling very demoralized after the incident (extremely low self-esteem, so much anxiety that I wouldn’t even go out of my apartment on some days), so I went to my school’s Counseling Center. When I went in, my psychologist did almost NOTHING to help me. Instead, she focused on my ethnicity (Asian-American) because she supposedly specializes in “multicultural issues.” She would bring up completely irrelevant points: “You’re Japanese, so I know you’ve been taught to respect your elders.” “Are you from Arcadia?” (a nearby city with a large Asian-American population, where I am NOT from.) “Is your brother a stereotypical nerdy Asian?” (And this wasn’t just side talk – to her, this was part of her way to help.) When I asked her to please not judge me by my race, her response was “I have more knowledge than you.” Then, she gave me a handout on Asian stereotypes. I was sexually assaulted, and you want to talk about Asian stereotypes?! Other than that, she only briefly touched over the assault. Whenever I would bring it up, she would say something like “That’s all in the past. Let’s not talk about it.” But I wanted to talk about!! I wanted to deal with that issue specifically! Then she referred me to a Stress/Social Anxiety group because, according to her, I am shy. She also spent much time trying to fix my “shyness.”