Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linked In Flickr Watch us on YouTube Google+
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

My parents don't let me vent to them ... who is in the wrong here ... me or them?

So I'm a college student at the age of 21. So far I am doing very well. I made it into the dental hygiene program, which is an excellent field to get into seeing as dental hygienists make great money. Anyway, I have a school assignment that requires me to drive to an elementary school and teach a bunch of 3rd graders about dental hygiene such as how to brush, why they should brush, teach them about cavities, etc.

Well, they only gave us 2 weeks to prepare for this assignment. 2 WEEKS!!! So of course I'm upset about this and feel I have the right to vent a little. I'm human after all, so venting my feelings is normal, right? Well, I vent my feelings and all I say is "They're only giving us 2 weeks to prepare to teach little kids how to do all these things. That's not much time. Other groups in my class were given a full months. Some even 2 months!"

And my dad's response is: "Ok, then work as a cashier your whole life then"
    Me: -_-

It just irks me. I know he sure vents when he needs to about his job or his boss or politics, etc. Yet when I do a bit of venting it is a problem and his solution is to just quit and be a cashier my whole life. It's like God forbid you let your daughter express her feelings at all about certain things. Just because I hate the assignment and the time they gave us to do it does not mean I won't do it and succeed in my lifetime goal as a dental hygienist.