Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linked In Flickr Watch us on YouTube Google+
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

please help. confused about my future!?

I am turning 32 and about to complete my master in architecture at the end of 2010. I was a matured aged student and went back to school to do what I believed what was to be my calling in life.

However, now that I am close to finishing I am having second doubts about being an architect after all. The main reason is that profession is a very lowly paid in comparison to other profession and the majority of the time the work involves countless hours sitting in front of a computer screen. All my life I have been doing outdoor hands on job and I was prepared to do an office job only if I enjoyed it and it was rewarding financially too. Architecture could be satisfying but not financially rewarding.

Now I am faced with the dilemma of wanting to go on to do another course which is in the same field but completely different job and more financially rewarding. I am thinking of doing Construction Management which is another 4 years at uni. But I have to take into account that I will be somewhere 36 -37 even before I start a career. But I think the job will suit me most because it is hands on, outdoor on site and I am dealing with people all the time. Also, graduates start off $15k more that architect graduates and in 5-10 years time they double more in pay packet than architects.