"The Ethicist" is Randy Cohen's long-running advice column in the New York Times. Each week, Gabriel Delahaye's "The Unethicist" will answer the same questions as "The Ethicist," with obvious differences.
This week, a question from the dullest voyeur on Earth, and a woman who is no longer eligible to run for office discusses what to do when "the help" goes "crazy."

For a project on ethnographic research, one of my fellow graduate students wanted to film people in a campus elevator without their knowledge or consent. I think this is an invasion of privacy. He thinks it's fine because the film is for educational purposes and would never be shown publicly. Who is right? -- M.S., Rhode Island
The question is not really about who is right or wrong, or whether the restrictive use of the film for educational purposes legitimizes its secretive nature, the question is who fucking cares about people in an elevator?
I'm not a scientist, but I know this: people on elevators are boring and lazy. The problem with graduate students is you idiots are completely detached from the world around you, lost in your elaborate Barthesian theories and exhausting discourses on "the Other." What I'm saying is you need to tape people fucking and/or murdering each other.
And the best part about making snuff films (besides the fucking and murdering) is you don't need to ask anyone's permission because the whole thing, from production to distribution, is totally illegal. Nice!
My nanny recently told me that she takes antipsychotic medication for a bipolar disorder. I've been happy with her for the past two years. She seldom spends long hours alone with my children because I am a stay-at-home mother, and she would never knowingly harm them, but people with psychosis can't always control themselves. You don't fire someone for a disability, and I feel a particular sense of obligation because she is a young undocumented Haitian, but should I dismiss her to protect my children? -- K.V., Brooklyn